top of page


Brahms / Shostakovich / Gershwin

Dates to be announced 2023

About the event

Melbourne Chamber Players presents an elegant performance of timeless masterpieces. 

Unapologetically romantic and exquisitely crafted, Johannes Brahms' Quintet, Op. 115 is widely regarded as one of his finest achievements. The work exudes a sense of profound intensity and lyrical beauty that generations of audiences have come to know and love.

The captivating nuances of Dimitri Shostakovich’s 2 Pieces for String Quartet: Elegy & Polka, Op. 11 will follow. Drawn from his celebrated opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, these hauntingly beautiful and intricately woven pieces reveal the heartfelt but playful Shostakovich.

The performance concludes with George Gershwin’s timeless classic, Porgy and Bess. Davis' rendition offers a fresh perspective, re-imagining some of Gershwin's most-loved pieces from the famous folk opera, including Summertime and It Ain't Necessarily So.

Johannes Brahms

Quintet in B minor, Op. 115

Dimitri Shostakovich

2 Pieces for String Quartet:

I. Elegy

II. Polka

George Gerswhin
Porgy and Bess arr. Carl Davis for Clarinet and String Quartet

More Music.

Australian Made.

Join us on our quest to record and perform imaginative and meaningful new works by Australian composers.

bottom of page